For more information about the
Midland Trail Scenic Byway, call us at
 

1.866.Route60

 
 
 
 
 
WV Tourism
 

Hurricane

Contact Information:


Area Information

Hurricane CMP

Hurricane was so named by a party of surveyors commissioned by George Washington. As the sun was slowly rising, cutting through the fog of an early spring day, they noted in their journal that all the trees at the mouth of the creek were bent in the same direction, and they called the location “the place of the hurricane.”

The creek became known as Hurricane Creek because of this phenomenon, and by 1811, according to early Virginia maps, the town of Hurricane Bridge was located where Route 34 now crosses the creek near Route 60.

Through the years, Hurricane Bridge became a stagecoach stop and a thriving livestock market center. In 1873, completion of a single-track railroad by Collis P. Huntington caused the town to be slightly relocated, and the name changed to Hurricane Station. The railroad caused Hurricane to grow with the addition of hotels and stores, and in 1888, the town was incorporated as Hurricane.

Main Street Unique Shops
Main St.; 304-562-5896.
Nine unique specialty shops located in
restored historic homes on Hurricane’s Main Street.

History Row Self-Guided Walking Tour
See seven murals telling the history of Hurricane, Caboose Museum, and petroglyphs.

Hurricane City Park
3543 Teays Valley Rd.; 304-562-5896. Open daily Mar. – Dec., 7am – midnight. Established in the early 1970s. Picnic areas, playgrounds, areas for basketball, baseball, softball, tennis, Skate Park, and walking or jogging. Fishing available in the lake.

Hurricane CVB: 304-562-5896. www.hurricanewv.com

Places of Interest